Buying Studio Time Questions

gmiller1122

Addled but happy
I know this may be out of place here, since this is HOME recording, but I'm considering buying some studio time at a local studio for the following reasons:

1. Experience. Never done it, curious about the process. I see it as an adventure.
2. Impatience. I've been recording on my own for about a while now, and the learning curve is so immense. I'm itching to get a different/better sound. Plus, all the compression/EQ/panning/mastering lingo is making my head spin. I'm not a techie at all.
3. Time. As has been said in other posts, "Time spent recording/mixing is time you don't spend writing and practicing." I like to be able to home record, because it's convenient and somewhat interesting to me, but I'm not getting any younger and want to spend as much time getting better at writing, singing, and playing guitar, and not so much on mixing, recording, etc.
4. Money. It is no longer an issue. We are very fortunate to be able to afford fun things now. I am even paying a friend to shoot a video for one of my songs, just for fun. A few years ago, this was impossible. I could spend several grand on studio equipment, but I'm a songwriter first, musician second, and home recordist is down the list. So, I have the cash, and figure, why not try this? I could spend it on a lot of other stupider things, right?!?

All this being said, I'm wondering where to begin, what to expect, etc. Some questions (and I realize every studio will be different and I need to talk to them at length)...

- Do studios charge by the hour or per song? Depends? Is each different?

- Will they bring in musicians if I ask? Do they have studio musicians usually? What if they do, and I play with them, and I hate their style? I don't gig now, and don't really know many people who play that I could bring into a studio with me.