Indie DJ newbie q: Which CD decks and mixer?

dougeast

Hi Guys,

I wanna start up as an indie music DJ and I need to buy some equipment.

I was wondering if anyone could advise me on which CD decks and mixer I should buy?

I went round checking out gear and prices and found these:

Acoustic Control CDJ-200A (CD decks)
DJ-252 (mixer, 3 band EQ)
Case
Price: 599 euros (I live in Barcelona, Spain)

Looked perfect but I was kinda thinking...is this a good deal or is this a buncha cheapo gear that's gonna sound shit?

Another option was:

Omnotronic CDT-200 (decks)
DJ-55 (mixer, 3 band eq)
Case
Price: 524 euros

Anyone know anything about this gear, and /or these brands? I've never heard of Omnotronic before.

I have a budget of about 600-800 euros. I understand I need to spend more than that to really get top quality gear. But I'm a complete DJ newbie and I don't wanna get into mixing tracks. Just wanna get a cool indie set together, you know? Nothing extravagant. Play a few parties, have some laughs. So I thought I'd start with the basics and see how things go, you know?

I have the specs on a buncha other gear too but I guess i'd like to hear about these first because they come as a set with a case, which, if they're worth it, would be very useful.

Thanks in advance and apologies if this topic has come up before, I couldn't find anything about this gear using the search function.

Ciao. Rob

Well

On the budget u are discribing to me i would think Numarks would be your best bet. I don't really know how 800 euro's translate's to USA's but i'm guessing it's around the price it would cost for TWo Numark Axis 9's or 8's (about 250-300$us) an a decent vestax mixer (pcv 175 about 150-200$US) I hope this helps u...i'll find u some links in a min i am having probs wit the PC as we speak...Peace,

Kevlar

Thanks Kevlar.

800 euros is 980$ according to XE.com. I'm at the Numark site now. The Axis 9 looks quite a beast.

You reckon this is the best deal for this price range?