I got around $1500 but I don't know what to do! Help!

BeatsInMyHead

Hi everyone, I'm new to the board but I've been trying to read up as much as possible. I'm still learning and have tons of reading to do but I figured I ask just to get an idea of what direction I should head. I've been writing lyrics and freestylin' for about 3 years now and I've been gettin the urge to actually start doing something with it.

I want to be able to make hip-hop, r&b, and maybe even some drum & bass beats. I also want to record my vocals onto them. The only piece of equipment I have is a Yamaha DGX-500. I was thinking about getting an Akai Mpc2500. In a few months I'm upgrading my computer so I figured while I'm saving I could get aquainted with the MPC. I haven't really liked any of the software that I've tried (still have to try out Cubase though) so I would prefer the hardware route.

So a couple things I guess... (Also I do know it's what in my head not in my hardware.)

1) Do I need something more than a keyboard and MPC to make good quality beats sound wise? (I keep reading about preamps and mixers and racks but I'm still not sure exactly what I would use them.. and I think I need software to record my vocals in??)

2) What would be the next best thing to invest in?