Contracts

bknot1

Hustle Magic!! We Got It.
Wsup Fam, could you all help me out here...someone wants to buy two beats from me..but she want exclusive rights...now i dont want to give her exclusive rights unless i can get royalties off the beat...i would like to know what type of contract or agreement should i get made up..i will give them exclusive rights as long as i get royalties...help is greatly needed on this one..

http://www.soundclick.com/knotmeproductions

I've only sold 12 beats, so I'm not an expert, but regardless of whether or not you negotiate a percentage of the back end, I would suggest getting a nice sized upfront payment. Otherwise, if the song doesn't do well, you're screwed.

Example: I sold 5 beats to one person last year. Since it was a package deal and this person was very well connected I cut her a deal. I gave her 3 tracks for $250 upfront and 30% of back end. The other 2 I didn't get anything upfront and 40% of the back end.

I haven't received a penny more than that $750. I still have contact with this person and she's still shopping, but good intentions aren't sending me any checks.

That's just my opinion/experience though.

Good luck.

Stray

so what type of contract was made up...and where can i get a copy of it..it sounds like a good contract to use..good advice very helpful..thanks stray

I didn't write the contracts for the example I gave. I can scan one and email it to you if you want it though.

For all the others I've sold though, I didn't use a contract and didn't set up a back end either. I just sold the exclusives for a flat rate.

The reasons?

1. I don't think anything I've done up until this point is "radio ready".
2. I don't know too many people who buy music, much less from some unknown cats.
3. If the people I sell to are using my tracks for a demo and do end up with a deal. There is no chance that my beat is going to end up on their album.