Zoom R16 and DAW

stevem5000

I record on a Zoom R16...8 tracks...
Right now I'm using Audacity to mix...very cumbersome and slow...
The Zoom is supposed to work with Cubase...but I just cannot figure Cubase out....I've gone thru videos...cubase help...forums etc...I can't do a dame thing in Cubase...

I do have "some" familiarity with Reaper...I can function very basically with it...

What I want to do...
Connect my R16 with USB to my PC....Open Reaper and set up my 8 tracks...then play the R16 into Reaper with Reaper recording....
Then I should be able to use my faders on the R16 to do a basic mix....at least that's how it's supposed to work using Cubase...

Then with Reaper I can render that to a stereo or mono file...

Can anyone talk me thru getting the R16 talking to Reaper...???

Be advised I am NOT very experienced with this equipment....I can do basic stuff...

Many thanks in advance for your time...

Mr Average...you have a good point...and my compliments to all those who can use Cubbase very well....just doesn't work for me...
Right now I have 7 tracks open in Reaper that I transferred from my R16 to my PC...and I can work with those...

I'm just looking for a little help getting the R16 to input into Reaper and record the tracks from there...

lets see now
audacity works but you say it is slow
cubase is too confusing
and you cant get tracks into reaper

why not try sonar its free
or one of the other free ones
else use what works
at least for now until you can figure out one you like better

I looked up the R16 whose specifications say "8-in/2-out USB audio interface for Macintosh/Windows computers". Presumably there will be installation instructions for setting it up as an interface.

Once that has been done, it is relatively straightforward to set up Reaper.

The steps would be:

1 Set the R16 as the input device for Reaper.
2 Create 8 tracks in Reaper, and set the inputs of these to be channels 1 to 8 respectively.
3 Then start recordng.