Why does GarageBand suck?

helloimage

Hi Guys,

I have been playing and recording music for about 10 years, however, only in the past, say, 3, have I really sought after doing it myself etc. I know how to use both Logic & GarageBand. However, now my computer is falling apart and I can't afford a new one yet. So I have been using GarageBand for the sake of using something as its less heavy. But there is something I am noticing in the quality of my recordings that I am really not liking.

After I record all my tracks, and start to mix etc, when I am finally done, I just notice something slightly weird about the sound. It sounds closed and narrow. As if the compression is off or bad or something. But I just use basic compression plugins etc. I also record strong signals into an SM57/condenser mic etc, with varying tones, in various spaces, so it's none of that. It just doesn't feel like it breathes very much, and I can't figure out why. Is it in my head? Are the plugins really poor and hence ruin the quality? ie reverb, eqing, compression etc?

Other issues I have are the computer getting too slow when I run too many tracks, or limited plugins, but that doesn't bother me. I'm wondering if sound in/sound out is far worse on GB than it is on others like Logic or PT.

So I am curious, why in particular GarageBand gets such a bad rap, and maybe I can fix my problem etc. I'm not looking for people's egos to just be all like "it sucks cuz it sucks" because I know very well how uncool it is to say you use GarageBand, and I don't give a shit. I know how to use tape, Logic, PT, and that is not what I am asking.

I'm asking particularly why people don't like GarageBand, and if they understand what I am talking about with my songs etc. If it would help, I can send a link to a bunch of songs I've recorded with GB. Here for example: soundcloud.com/helloimage .. Songs like Et Cetera / Undiagnosed .. they have that closed sound I am talking about.