[SOLVED] [Voiceover/acting] Upgrading from beginner set. Audient iD22 + interface questions...

chaoshead

So. I am a semi-pro voiceover artist/VA as well as a live streamer who's looking to up my current gear a little so it will be even better for me to do my VO projects + live stream + eventually do some podcasting too.

Right now, im using a Behringer UMC202HD interface. nothing else. the mic (NT1) is connected to that and then the usb to the pc. I see several VAs and live streamers use either the Audient iD22 or the DBX 286s... While some use the latter one + additional audio interface (like this guy:
YouTube)

Now, which one of those to go for? According to other VAs and live streamers, it seems like the Audient iD22 does the job without the need of an additional audio interface... The Audient iD22 costs a tad bit more than the DBX, but it's within my budget range.

Is Audient iD22 the one to go for, or are there better alternatives for my purposes when it comes to interfaces and pre-amps?

It should be noted that i am also upgrading my mic to an Neumann TLM 102 or 103 (haven't decided on that, since my voice isn't that "deep").

Any help and advises would be greatly appreciated, of course.

Last edited:
Acoustic treatment for your recording space is going to be far more important than your choice of interface. Yes, the Audient preamps are very good but the difference between preamps is tiny compared to the difference between a normal room and a well treated recording space. It is only worth upgrading once you've created a decent recording environment.

Of course the other major consideration is the quality of your vocal performance - have you thought about taking some voice coaching lessons? In fact your performance is probably the most important factor in creating a successful voice recording. A great voice would still sound great speaking into an SM58 plugged into a Behringer interface.