Using USB controller to control midi analog synths.

flyagaricus

Ok - total newbie question here:

I have a couple USB midi keyboards (no 5-pin MIDI jacks) and I would like to buy my first analog hardware synths and be able to play it using one of my controllers. I don't want to have to buy a new midi keyboard that has 5-pin MIDI. I've heard this can be done but the people at my local music stores don't seem to be much help. So here I am. I've heard it can be done either through software or through a USB/Midi host. I have no need to control the synth remotely or live, so I'll always have a PC nearby.

I'm wondering what people here thing would be the best approach, even if it means buying a new keyboard.

Thanks

It works fine if you just set the DAW to send whatever comes in to your new analogue external device. I'm never that keen on doing this because windows has a habit of doing housekeeping stuff that suddenly stops things working, but my MacBook does it mostly fine.

It works fine if you just set the DAW to send whatever comes in to your new analogue external device. I'm never that keen on doing this because windows has a habit of doing housekeeping stuff that suddenly stops things working, but my MacBook does it mostly fine.

I'm unclear un how the analog synth would connect...Just through USB, like a new MIDI device? What about if I had a synth with no USB, or what about if I had multiple, adn I wanted to use just the one keyboard to play all of them?

I am not that familiar with the USB to MIDI, but since it works off the same standard, I assume you set each sound module up with a channel. Set your keyboard up to output to that channel, then it should play that module.