Using Audacity to Mix

justinm.

I apologize in advance if these are stupid questions. I'm not too good with the technical aspects of recording.

I was wondering, if you were using a Tascam 2488, can you transfer your tracks individually to the program Audacity to be mixed? And would this be a good thing to use for mixing...or even mastering?

Thanks for reading.

I was wondering, if you were using a Tascam 2488, can you transfer your tracks individually to the program Audacity to be mixed? And would this be a good thing to use for mixing...or even mastering?

In order: yes, no, and no. The 2488 can export WAV files that you can mix with anything. I wouldn't use Audacity, though. It is not really a multitracking program.

Audacity is basically a destructive editor (despite many claims to the contrary). That means that when you cut out part of a track, the stuff after it slides to the left. This is the opposite of what you want when you are working with multiple tracks.

For multitrack editing, you want a non-destructive (clip-based) editor. This means that the original files are never modified and the project consists of a series of references to various spots within the file, e.g. "At 6 minutes, 40 seconds, 17350 samples into the project, start playing from the file track1.wav beginning at 9 minutes, 38 seconds, 2301 samples."