Upgrading Tacscam US-1800 Interface

mrbrownstone

Long story short, I've come into a bit of cash that I want to throw at my home studio for upgrades. I've been slowly building this over the past couple of years

Right now, I'm running a mac mini with LPX, using a Tascam US-1800 interface, ART dual tube pre-amp, and Slate plugins.

To be honest, I haven't been at this a long time, and am happy with my current setup - But I'm starting to get nervous that the Tascam interface will soon start holding me back with regards to updates as it's pretty old. I'm thinking my first upgrade will be the interface.

I need something big enough to handle at least 8-10 mics for recording live drums. I'd like to have at least 16 for tracking live off the floor.

I'll be the first to admit that I'm no genius here, and am fully self taught in what I know. That US-1800 has served me very well, but I think its time upgrade.

After one evening of initial research, I'm leaning towards the Personus Quantum 26x32,but something I am noticing is that on the tascam I had 8 xlr input along with along with 4 balanced inputs on the back. I used 2x of these on the back to connect my Art MPA II preamp, so this gave me 10 XLR connections with 4 leftover line inputs (2 on the front for instruments, and 2 on the back). Non of the new interfaces I'm looking at have any line inputs on the back.

Does this mean I'd have to connect my tube preamp into 2x of the 8 XLR/ 1/4in TRS inputs, loosing 2x of my XL channels for my external amp?

I really need the 10 XLR's (can count the 2x on my MPA II) to fully cover the drum kit.

What would be your recommendation with $1000-$1500 CAD to spend? I'm totally open to going used as well. I would actually prefer to!

Edit: From further research, I'm assuming I'll need something like the octopre to expand on the XLR inputs of the interface?

Last edited:
Hi,