Time stretching on recording to PC

Andy Goodman

Hi All -newbie here. I record several people locally on their PCs for a podcast. Everyone's recording is fine except one person. Her recording gets progressively more and more out of sync the longer the piece is. Does anyone have a clue why this is happening. I'm thinking, slow processor or crappy sound card?

The processor or sound card shouldn't be a factor. The most obvious would be a difference in the sample rate. If she is using 48K vs everyone else at 44.1K, you will have an 9% difference. If you plug a 48K file into a 44.1K project, you will get continual drift. Look at the properties of her file and see what the sample rate is compared to what you are using.

Sample rate settings could be the problem, but it would go out of sync pretty fast, and the pitch would be noticably off. It might just be a sample rate clock that's inaccurate.

Sample rates are all 44.1k

The processor or sound card shouldn't be a factor. The most obvious would be a difference in the sample rate. If she is using 48K vs everyone else at 44.1K, you will have an 9% difference. If you plug a 48K file into a 44.1K project, you will get continual drift. Look at the properties of her file and see what the sample rate is compared to what you are using.

Seems like the file is 44.1k like all the others - the file gets stretched out by a couple of seconds every hour. It's really weird

Hi All -newbie here. I record several people locally on their PCs for a podcast. Everyone's recording is fine except one person. Her recording gets progressively more and more out of sync the longer the piece is. Does anyone have a clue why this is happening. I'm thinking, slow processor or crappy sound card?
How are you recording? Are you bringing your own interface & mic, or a USB mic, or do they each have their own? Recording with the same software and version? Same OS, etc?