Terrible audio problems with Windows 7 laptop + Audiobox USB + Studio One Artist

kruiseri

Hi all!

I just bought Presonus Audiobox USB and also a new laptop (Samsung RF610 with Windows 7 64bit).
I'm completely new with PC recording systems, used before Roland VS-840ex 8-track recorder.
So I have installed 64bit Audiobox USB driver and 32bit Studio One Artist (latest version ; 32bit version should work ok with 64bit OS, right?). Default settings in use.

Yesterday I started to use Studio One Artist for the first time and immediately had several big noise/crackling issues.
I would be very much appreciated, if someone could give me any hint what to do!

I plugged my guitar to Audiobox input one. Audio box out is connected to Behringer B2030A TRUTH -monitors.
When I play guitar through audiobox, audio is ok without using Studio one and if the laptop power cord is not connected (->laptop battery is used).

But as I started to use Studio One and made a track for guitar, the problems started
- I inserted Ampire guitar effects to be used with guitar with the track. No recording yet started. Just played using Ampire, like getting a distorted sound.
-> cracklings ('snaps') are heard every now and then (couple of times in a minute)
-> after playing for some time, audio starts to come seconds later out from the monitors than I'm actually playing. It's like a 3 second delay I would be using!
-> also if I connect a power cord to the laptop, then I'll get a HUGE distorted noise from the monitors all the time. It stops immediately when I unplug the power cord. So am I stuck with recording only using the laptop's own battery which will limit the time for only ~two hours?

Please give me any hints what to check and where to start to get things better!

Audiobox

Hey Man,