Soon-To-Be Digital Convert.

bluebrew

This is a very cool message board. I just whiled away three hours going through random threads and posts - what a knowledge base there is in here! Being brand spankin' new to this forum and to digital recording, I'll just pose my question. It's pretty general:

What equipment do I want to start out in digital recording?

I'll elaborate. I've been involved in music - stage and studio - for 25 years. I am no sound engineer; just a player, sometimes composer, and collaborator. I was always very comfortable in the analog recording environment, although when it came to important projects, it was always a pro engineer behind the controls. My home setups consisted at various times of 4-track cassette, 8-track reel-to-reel, or 1/2" 16. I always managed to cobble something together to get decent demo tracks to tape in the comfort of my own home, and was able to construct functional full-arrangement demos of instrumentally complex material. Of course, the mix quality and perfection of the product weren't what mattered...only the ability to demo the material for other players.

A friend and I had been working to rough out structural tracks to a somewhat ambitious studio project before I was relocated with work three years ago. It was all going to 24-track 1" in a popular local studio. My work move temporarily pulled the plug on the project. We are now getting back into it, but the studio has since gone digital! The engineer told me not to worry, and that we would still be able to burn the original roughs to disc for audio reference and demo purposes. He also said he could digitize everything for preservation (the old reels have been sitting idle and magnetically degrading since I left town). OK, great! But now, I guess I need to think about putting something together so I can work with these old tracks in the digital domain, particularly since that studio is now 200 miles away instead of 30. I barely know where to begin.