Rare Volume Bug with the BOSS RC-300

Mirth470

Hello everyone,

I am clearly very new to this forum, after some online research, this place seems to be my very best shot at finding help for this particular problem! I thank you in advance, for taking the time!

I have been using the BOSS RC-300 loop station for a few years now. About 1 year ago, a problem with volume regulation started to appear - The master volume is (randomly, at least once a day, for 45+ minutes, up to hours) randomly and rapidly changed. I am talking about 2-3 vastly different levels, sometimes rapidly alternating, sometimes only every few minutes or so.

This affects the Main Output, so the source of the audio (1/4inch instrument cable, XLR mic cable, USB in from the PC, etc) does not matter at all.
Restarting the device, disconnecting various components, adjusting any settings including the volume knob, all this does not prevent this misfunction, rendering my RC-300 essentially useless for live situations.

Does anyone have any clue, whether this could (1)be a soft- or hardware issue? (2)Whether an "instrument repair guy" is likely to be able to fix this? (3)Perhaps someone who uses the BOSS RC-300 looper has had a similar experience?

I am just desparate for any information at this point. Please let me know if there is a more appropriate subforum for this question, and/or if there things I can clarify about the problem.

Your help is Very Much appreciated, and Season's Greetings!

Mirth470