Which OS for low-end DAW? XP vs Linux

jhaas

I'm a newbie, and am currently doing my recording on a Fostex MR-8, but I have an old PC - 450 MHz AMD w/ 512 MB RAM that I'm thinking about doing some recording on - just to get my feet wet with the PC side of it.

The machine currently has Win XP on it, but since Linux is less demanding on resources in general, I'm wondering if it might make a better DAW if I were to re-format the hard drive and install Linux on it.

Is there much/any audio software available that runs on Linux?

And if Linux is a viable option, which flavor of Linux would make the most sense?

Thanks,

John in Vermont, USA

Sequencers are available and there are plenty of basic recording tools for Linux, but what're ya gonna do for plugins???

I love Macs, too and will run any OS, but all my recoring programs and plugins are PC-only so that resolved my choice.

Pick what software you what to use FIRST, then go with the OS that supports it...

[Pick what software you what to use FIRST, then go with the OS that supports it...]

This makes sense provided your hardware is sufficient to run that software. My concern is that my hardware may not be up to the task of running Windows sequencers and such, and that it may be better suited for the Linux based software of the same caliber.

...but maybe that concern isn't valid.

John

Bulls Hit said:
Which Linux-based sequencers are you thing of using?

I'm totally green here, and don't have any experience with any sequencers, on ANY platform.

My brief search has uncovered ardour and Rosegarden (in the Linux realm), but I'm here to learn...

John

i'm wondering if driver support would be a problem in linux?