Oldie but Newbie - Need recommendation on new computer for audio recording

Rich Hutzler

Hi all, wish I found this place years ago, great info.

I have been using the same computer for 10 years for recording (Gateway FX6800), unfortunately the motherboard went kaput and have spent 3 months trying to find a replacement to no avail, so time to start new. It's probably time anyway since it was running pretty loud, although I'm going to lose thousands in VSTs I've traded with friends over the years.

I'm looking for a recommendation on specs for what it is I do. Have read through the boards and seems like many are getting by with budget computers, which are way more powerful these days than what I was running. A typical song I write has 4 or 5 audio tracks. I use EZ drummer for drums, and maybe 3 or 4 other VST plugins (Amplitude, keyboard, synth), although I've had some tracks with over a dozen plugins. I am a loyal reaper user, it's perfect for what I do.

Before I started doing research here, I was going to buy the cheapest recording computer from Sweetwater ($1400 - Windows 10/64, Intel I5-8400, 8 GB DDR4, 240 GB SSD,). Then I found a gaming computer at Costco which will never be used for gaming, but had better specs ($1100 - Windows 10/64, Intel I7-8700, 16 GB DDR4, 256 GB SSD, 500W Power Supply, plus a 6GB Video card which I don't care about)

After spending time reading and researching here, for what I do, would it be wiser and save some $ to step down a notch? I can get a decent Dell/HP/Lenovo for $700 or $800 (Lenovo IdeaCenter $800-I7-8700, 16 GM DDR4 RAM No SSD, I'm guessing a low wattage power supply). My only concern is I'll just need to spend more money replacing the power supply, or adding a SSD. My goal is to get something that is fast, quiet and will last for a while. It will never be a power recording stations.

My other option is to build, but piecing it out seems that the price wouldn't be much difference.

Any recommendations appreciated.