none of my tracks clip - why does my mix down clip?

wes480

I am still REALLY new at using DAW...I have been using cool edit pro. I was really careful this time with tracking that none of my tracks clipped...and they didn't.

Well, when doing my mix down, the overall thing clipped in some places...(i did not raise volume on anything).

Whats the deal? Clipping is a bear for me right now...seems to me that if you record everything with no clipping...then you should come out with no clipping <sigh>

How do you avoid mix down probs? Just have to cut parts until it doesn't clip? Is there a scientific way to go about it?

Is there something that works a lot better for mixing and getting this stuff right than cool edit pro? logic maybe?

Well, you've got it partly right.

If you record a track and the track doesn't clip, then the track won't clip when you play it back at its original volume.

However, when you combine several tracks (e.g. MIX), you are in effect *adding* the tracks together, and their combined sum may certainly clip.

This is really one of the fundamentals of mixing.

Slackmaster 2000

if you're recording multiple tracks at the same time, like a drumkit, for example, try checking if the tracks are properly aligned.
it works for me many times.
also, go back to your mix, at the exact point where it clipped, and look for the loudest event, then turn that track down a bit.
if it doesn't work, do that to the second loudest track.

adriano

what do you guys feel is the "optimum" recording level for an individual track? .001 db everytime? Or do you think it works well for mixing when your average track is maybe -6db, or -10? Is there anything inherently bad about a -10db recorded track?

I've heard before that cheaper preamps (i have an Aardvark) don't do too well at low levels