Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Noise goes away when I unplug my laptop during recording

northampton uk home of Dr Who and Blackstar Amps!
    Thanks
    Sign in to disable this ad
    Thank you Rob, my next laptop definitely WON'T be a Dell!

I have an HP and have run two Lenovos, none of those machines gave me any noise problems so I shall stick with those. I have read good reports of the Asus laptops but not in regard to audio use.

Now that you have explained the problem in more detail I am going to ask about Dells over at soundonsound.com. Will keep you all posted.

Dave.

Thanks
    I don't know about which Dells have these issues, and/or is just limited to laptops...but I've been using Dell towers for my DAW systems for the last 20 years...and never had any noise issues due to it being a Dell.
    TBH...I don't much recommend laptops for DAW use, regardless of brand...but I know these days that seems to be the norm for most people.

That said...I do use Dell laptops exclusively for my other computer needs, though they don't involve audio interfaces, so I can't speak about audio noise...but otherwise, I've not had any of the issues that many Dell haters speak of.

Oh...and we had some Lenovo tablets at my day gig...they were an odd item one year, because otherwise Dell was/is the major computer supplier at the day gig...I mean, like 10k computers/year...but anyway, those Lenovo tables were absolute dogs, everyone hated them, and wanted to get rid of them.
    So go figure...

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by miroslav View Post
    I don't know about which Dells have these issues, and/or is just limited to laptops...but I've been using Dell towers for my DAW systems for the last 20 years...and never had any noise issues due to it being a Dell.
    TBH...I don't much recommend laptops for DAW use, regardless of brand...but I know these days that seems to be the norm for most people.