Newbie question: Firebox vs Audient iD4, SSL 2+, other...

John Dikeman

Hello,

(long backstory, feel free to jump to the main question below)

Sorry, real newbie question. I'm a professional saxophonist, not a recording engineer... But thanks to ol Covoid, a few of my projects are finding new ways of working together. We're now trying to work on compositions and recordings separately, recording at home and splicing it together later. So I need to get my home recording situation sussed.

I have a Presonus Firebox and a Dell XPS 9550. Now, the Dell doesn't have Firewire but it does have a thunderbolt USB C so it's possible to get adapters Firewire to Thunderbolt + Thundebolt to Thunderbolt 3/USB-C. But then, I hear Windows 10 isn't supported with Firebox... Though some folks online mentioned they got it working installing the Windows 7 drivers.
My girlfriend does have a Mac that supports the Firebox, but it's kind of a drag borrowing her computer all the time to record. Sometimes she needs it. Also, we wanted to record the project with Bandlab to store all files in the cloud. Her Mac is too old for that. So I'd have to record with the old Mac, then send everything to myself to work on... you get the picture.

Those cables cost around 90 euros... Am I better off just buying a new one? I don't have a lot of cash (and I don't have any gigs coming anytime soon).

QUESTION
How does the Firebox compare to modern inexpensive audio interfaces?

IE Audient iD4 or SSL 2+? Or anything around 200 or less?

I would strongly suggest you buy a modern USB interface. I take the point that cash is tight but think carefully about the facilities you really need and don't go cheap in haste.

The new compact SSLs are very nice but I cannot but think you are paying for a name and getting short changed on facilities? My money would be on the MOTU and the M4 for preff'.

But,where are you John? If in UK you can have a loan of my Mk1 NI KA6 for the Duration?

Dave.