My week with a Zoom R24

flyingace

While I'm not a very prolific poster here, I read a lot and I really appreciate all the excellent threads and posts about everything under the sun when it comes to song craft, recording (both old school analog and new fangled tech), and technical gadget advice. So Thank You HR.com!

I wanted to post my perspective about my decision to sell my M-Audio Fast Track C600 and buy a Zoom R24 Recorder/Interface/Controller.

I worked in an analog studio from 1992-1995. It was set up with some great, albeit old, gear from the late 70s. MCI board, MCI 2" 24 Track recorder to match and much much more. I learned so much.

But since then, I've had a hard time getting back involved in recording using the computer. I am an admitted mac snob and have been using them since '87, they are all I know. So I obviously bought Logic Pro 9 to go with the C600 last year. I had used GarageBand before that, of course.

I just never bonded with that way of working and felt I needed something to bridge the gap, you know, some kind of control surface that gave me that tactile feel. I looked at the Zoom R16 the year before but ruled it out for a number of reasons: did I need 8 inputs? (Turns out YES!) Was Zoom a very good company? I had owned a G2 and thought it was dreadful. (Turns out YES, too!) Did it have good enough pre-amps? (Yup!) Would it be too hard to learn using a tiny screen, no visual on recordings like the computer, etc.? (Turns out NO, not hard & it also turns out that the lack of the "big picture" screen, I'm getting more intimate with my recordings, counting out beats, sequencing drums for the first time since 1992!)

So, last Wednesday, I had a day off and sat down with the zoom, the day after it arrived, to finally dig in and learn about this thing. Using only the Zoom forum, a pdf of the manual up on my screen, I was able to sequence a full song's drum track, lay down a guitar part, bass part and prepare a track for my daughter to sing on.