Multi Processor DAW; Worth it?

The_Raven

Howyadoin,

I'm speccing a new DAW for my studio and have given some thought to going to a multiple CPU setup. This would probably use Athlon MP 1800s. The question is, is there a distinct advantage to a MP setup for programs like Sound Forge, Cakewalk, etc? Are these programs equipped to take advantage of multiple processors? I'll be using Win2KPro as the OS, and a Delta 1010 for the inputs. Anyone with any experience in this area who could enlighten me would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Mark P.
Sherbet Studios
Peabody, MA

I've been running dual cpu's for two to three years. First of all, you have to run Win2k or XP Pro - any Win9x OS does not support SMP and I'm almost certain XP Home leaves this feature out. Sound Forge and Vegas are multi-threaded, especially Vegas. This means the app divides its work into seperate chunks and if it's smart will divide its work between two cpu's. As far as I know, Vegas is the only multitrack app that's coded for SMP, though I could be wrong.

Don't expect double the performance though, as adding additional cpu's creates additional system overhead - it takes cpu cycles for the system to figure out what goes where and how it should come out. That said though, SMP is great. Your system will be much more responsive under load and your render times will be substantially reduced.