M-Audio Air 192 | 4 problem with macbook pro?

Floating Above

Hi all,

I am new to computer music.

I have an M Audio 192 | 4 audio interface connected by Usb to a 2011 Macbook pro and was wandering if it is ok to connect the line out of a second Macbook Pro 2011 (yeah, they are exactly the same) to the line in of the audio interface.

This would be great as I could monitor the sound of both MacBooks via the huge knob in the audio interface, this would save me going under the desk to monitor volume in my amp which only has + and - buttons and not a knob!

I have actually made the connection with the right cables (tried several) but the sound through the speakers is low and lacks definition...

Thanks for your help!

best
Jorge

Hi,
Yes, you should be able to do that although it's a headphone output so at max volume it may be far too loud for a line input.
Keep in mind that the macbook output is stereo TRS and the inputs on the interface will be balanced (mono) TRS, so you'll have to use two of them.
The cable you'd use should look like this.

cable.jpg

Hi,
Yes, you should be able to do that although it's a headphone output so at max volume it may be far too loud for a line input.
Keep in mind that the macbook output is stereo TRS and the inputs on the interface will be balanced (mono) TRS, so you'll have to use two of them.
The cable you'd use should look like this.

View attachment 106890

Thank you so much! i got it... but my m-Audio 192|4 interface only has 1 line in input... I may have to experiment with the cable you're rightly pointed out with say (L) to the line in and the (R) to the instrument in... otherwise I will return this and get the M-Audio 192|6 which has 2 line ins...

again, many thanks!

Ah, yes, you're right. The 192|4 doesn't have a pair of line inputs.
Using the line input and the DI input should work, technically, but L+R aren't going to sound the same.