Laptop/Notebook Recommendations Appreciated

Bongo Bill

Greetings Fellow "Noise Makers,"

I'm a guitarist and drummer whose previous recording experiences consists of recording groups of fellow musicians on 4-track machines back in the day and with my Yamaha AW16G digital recorder/cd burner over the last decade or so. I like to make my own songs with layering tracks or recording live sessions with friends and family (my wife is pretty good drummer and singer as is my daughter). We have had lots of fun and look forward to advancing my skills and recordings into the next decade by transitioning to a computer and interface as my main platform.

I just purchased a Scarlett 18i20 interface and now I'd like to mate it to a new laptop or notebook (I'm not too CPU savvy so what I mean by notebook is a laptop that has the detachable keyboard).

I've been trained on Microsoft products so plan to stick that route vs. going Apple (nothing against Apple). I'd appreciate recommendations on a unit that's in the $1,500 price range. A little more $ would be ok if necessary and I'm not looking for a bare minimum spec/unit as I'd like to have potential to grow with future technology/gear. I'd like the capacity to record up to 8 line inputs max simultaneously but have various mixers if I need to route drum mics through a single channel.

My initial thoughts are that I should focus on at east 16GB and ideally the latest I7-10processor available but possibly is worth going with an older I7 processor (8) if the unit comes with more GB & RAM. Again, I'm not too CPU savvy and what I just stated is already pushing the boundaries of my knowledge/understanding. As I'm sure is case with all of us, avoiding latency is of substantial importance.

This will also be my personal laptop for regular use so it won't be dedicated to just recording. Maybe worth noting that I'm not a video gamer.

Any particular brands proven to work better than others and any I should avoid?