Just Starting and Have Questions

WurWulf

I'm an old guy that has been playing guitar with working bands since I was in my late teens. Over the years I've found myself on a lot of recorded music the majority of which was straight out of the board at shows and thru other bandmates gear that they were at the controls of I have also been involved with 5 projects that were recorded at bona fide studios with real engineers so I never have really been at the controls so I have no recording knowledge outside of things I've learned just by my involvement as a musician. Other things have helped like running live sound I have a decent ear and we used a Mackie 24 channel mixer

This brings me to why I'm here. 1st all upgrades or new gear comes with a price tag and my budget caps out at a grand would like to spend less. I'm not happy with the results I'm getting and the volume is adequate but not as much flexibility increasing volume I would like to have. Most of my recording has been done on multi-track all-in-one work stations so I purchased one because of my experience with the Brand in other devices and the low cost I was also told to get a dedicated PC so I did here's a complete list of what I have now. I think I may be able to use this as a starting place for

Zoom R8 recorder (Has a drum loop machine and effects built in I'm using different effects)

HP Laptop AMD Dual Core Processor 4GB Ram 1TB HDD (no recording software installed)

Zoom MS-50 Multi-Effects stomp box processor

Presonus Eris e3.5 powered monitors

AKG 24 Studio headphones.

To get a better idea of what to recommend, we would need to know what your recording aspirations are. What do you intend to record? Vocals? Instruments? How many tracks do you need to be able to record simultaneously?

Also, there are (broadly) two main recording processes: through a standalone unit (e.g. the Zoom), or through a computer.