Help setting up microphone

Jklop123

I just got some gear to record on my Dell Inspiron and i'm having troubles getting the mic to work. (i'm a noob) I have an Art Tube MP Project Series usb interface with a MXL V63M condenser mic. I have both Cubase AI4 and FL Studio9 (i don't know which is better). I have everything plugged in correctly and the driver is installed and everything but i'm not getting a signal. There's no sound from the mic at all. I disabled my internal mic and enabled the usb audio CODEC and still there is no sign of bars jumping up and down! Any help would be appreciated!

Divide and conquer. Make sure the ART is set up right. In Cubase, drop down the Devices menu, and make sure the ART is listed as the input and output device. On your laptop, go into device manager and be sure the internal soundcard (maestro or whatever it is) is disabled, and the ART is listed and enabled.
After that, go to the mic/ART hookup. Do you have phantom power turned on?The ART should show at least the two green led's and the yellow led at most lit up when you test the mic.
From there I'd be as lost. I have Dell laptops but not the ART. I'm using the M-Audio Fast Track Pro, and I had some rookie teething pains, too. But with vigilance I figured it all out.

Thanks! I disabled the internal sound card and the bars are jumping on both programs. BUT there is no sound coming out of the headphones when I playback! I can hear a little buzz sound in the left ear. (i tried 2 different headphones) It is plugged into the output on the interface correctly. It says the device is activated. I'm confused!