HELP! Noob trying to fix AI White noise

goopgodd

I really need help. I'm trying to record vocals but my audio interface creates a staticy-white noise sound when phantom power is on. The problem is in the audio interface because even when pro tools is off, it creates a hissing sound in the speakers and headphones which are both routed to my AI. I tried moving plugs around but it didn't work. I also tried online solutions but they all made no sense to me (Im new to all of this). Someone please help.

(PS - I use a Focustrite Clarett 8Pre as my AI.)

EDIT: I just discovered that its not phantom power that is the issue. Even with phantom power off, the static is present. It gets louder the more i turn up an inputs volume.

Pictures attached show my set up

Attachments

• Photo Aug 27, 2 48 52 PM.jpg
    Photo Aug 27, 2 48 52 PM.jpg
    1.6 MB · Views: 10
  • Photo Aug 27, 2 48 58 PM.jpg
    Photo Aug 27, 2 48 58 PM.jpg
    1.9 MB · Views: 8
  • Photo Aug 27, 2 49 13 PM.jpg
    Photo Aug 27, 2 49 13 PM.jpg
    1.5 MB · Views: 9
  • Photo Aug 27, 2 49 20 PM.jpg
    Photo Aug 27, 2 49 20 PM.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 6
  • Photo Aug 27, 2 49 40 PM.jpg
    Photo Aug 27, 2 49 40 PM.jpg
    2.3 MB · Views: 7
- If you turn down all the input gains and just increase one at a time, is there one channel that gives the noise or do they all do it the same?
- Any reason that ch 5&6 are cranked all the way up? What is plugged into those?
- What are you using for a mic?
- Can you post an mp3 clip of the noise? (if you can't post a clip directly here yet, post a link to one you've uploaded somewhere)

Hi. I also wonder about input 5&6. Any reason they are turned all the way up?
If there's an active loopback in you Clarett mixer, that could cause it to amplify/exaggerate a low/non-existing signal in 5&6 (possibly).
All the best.

Hopefully dude comes back. It is likely one or the other or combination of those input knobs all the way up or un-balanced cables to the monitors.