garageband general

I would think many people here use GB.
Anyway I am new to it and learning slowly. One thing I noticed in editing.. for example I find a part I dont like and delete it
and join. But I can hear the transition between segments sometimes.
How do you guys join parts together with smoother joints..?

First, you have to choose your cut points well, i.e., the before/after parts have to be well aligned in terms of audio. I can't imagine them doing this with tape. I honestly don't know if GB does anything about locating the playhead at a zero-crossing, but that's what I would in in Audacity, if doing a join. At the least, you want to zoom in as much as possible to look at the wave form and make sure you're not leaving a gap, and that the two parts are at similar amplitude and waveform shape in the area.

In Logic Pro X you can simply choose a "Fade" mouse-cursor and swipe across the area where the regions touch and it will cure most problems. That's not available, it seems, in GB.

[SNOB]Well, not many people here use garageband. it's more of a toy than a real DAW program[/SNOB] :D

If it is possible in GB, I suggest using cross-fades to join parts together. They can be very short in transition and can be seamless if done properly.

I dont think its a toy anymore. Maybe once.
It's a [very] gelded version of Logic Pro X. (And, I'm referring to the OS X version of GB.)

You can find the source of what it exposes in Logic, but as a Logic user, I have to say I preferred the earlier version of GB, though I only used it for maybe a year before making the move. Best $200 I ever spent [Logic Pro X] on this hobby. (Well, the AT4051a and ATM450 for $100 each, used, probably comes close, and a bundle of Roxul Safe'n'sound and some wood framing...)

As far as I know, GB is now at least at 24-bit now. But from recent experience with a guitar player recording with it and sending to me, I am not impressed. Might not be the software though.