firewire to Thunderbolt?

timdavis

Hi Newbie here, looking for help.

Need to upgrade my computer but want to keep my good old MOTU 828mk3, which has only firewire out to computer. No firewire available on new machines, so need connection solution to go between FW and Thunderbolt. Are there good reliable adapters available? Or another low $ solution I hope?

Firewire has not been supported in OS X for some time, so, while it might work, I'd probably be looking for testimonials of folks that had used your hardware through an adapter with the version of the OS you've got. I don't think you'll find many, if any, FW interfaces currently supported by their manufacturer in the latest versions of OS X.

I'm using Firewire on an old Mini (which has a FW port) still running Mojave, but I plan to get a new interface when I replace the computer. I won't be upgrading to Catalina or anything newer because of the 64-bit hard switchover, and I just don't want to deal with any incompatibilities that might pop up. (The "upgrade" plan has moved out to some indeterminate future point, given everything else going on in the world right now!)

Firewire has not been supported in OS X for some time, so, while it might work, I'd probably be looking for testimonials of folks that had used your hardware through an adapter with the version of the OS you've got. I don't think you'll find many, if any, FW interfaces currently supported by their manufacturer in the latest versions of OS X.

I'm using Firewire on an old Mini (which has a FW port) still running Mojave, but I plan to get a new interface when I replace the computer. I won't be upgrading to Catalina or anything newer because of the 64-bit hard switchover, and I just don't want to deal with any incompatibilities that might pop up. (The "upgrade" plan has moved out to some indeterminate future point, given everything else going on in the world right now!)