Digital Setup For A Church

crimp

I am doing research for my church on a small computer based recording setup and would like to ask you guys some questions if I may.

1. What suggestions would you have in the Mac vs. PC arena. I would be operating this setup and I have recording experience with Cool Edit and Cakewalk on a PC in a home studio hobby setup, but I have never used a Mac before. Would a PC suffice for recording a church service in up to to 2 hour segments. Or would I be better off going with a Mac.

2. Any suggestions on computer specs, hard drive, memory, processors etc.

3. We have a small mixing board and I plan on using it to mix certain things, but I would like to be able to seperate out 4 to 8 channels for mixing later. Would a firewire or usb setup suffice and would anyone have suggestions for brand, specs etc.

4. Does anyone have any experience in this type of recording enviroment and could you give me some pointers or a heads up on what I could expect.

I will be recording church services and editing them to CDs which will be available in our audio library. These will also be edited for radio play. I appreciate any help or suggestions you could give me.
Thanks
Greg Thomas

crimp said:
1. What suggestions would you have in the Mac vs. PC arena. I would be operating this setup and I have recording experience with Cool Edit and Cakewalk on a PC in a home studio hobby setup, but I have never used a Mac before. Would a PC suffice for recording a church service in up to to 2 hour segments. Or would I be better off going with a Mac.

Go with the devil you know! If you have to troubleshoot, you will be much more comfortable doing it on a PC. The PC setup is also likely to be less expensive and that might be a consideration depending on what you have for a budget. The length of the segment recorded shouldn't affect your brand choice. Just focus on getting a drive large enough to handle that much recorded material.