Desktop PC for new home studio; what do you suggest in the $500 range?

foxwaves

Hello Friends,

I've been playing music for more than 40 years, and now want to get into home recording...more of a songwriter's workshop for my own demos. I've got a room almost completed, have most of the basic equipment and now need to buy a new desktop. I'm going to use Reaper (at least at first) and will almost always be tracking only one instrument/vocal at a time. I've had good luck with Dell pcs for home and business...how are they for recording? From what I've read, it sounds like I need at least 4g of ram, and a fast hard drive. Would any of you mind suggesting specific models of pcs that you think would be a good bang for the buck? Dell or otherwise, I'm open to advice. Thanks!

You should be able to find a used/refurb macpro in the $500 range. If not I see tons of Powermac G5s on craigslist all the time for less than $200. Either one will do you more than well.

Broadly speaking 3GHz dual-core Pentium/i3 processor, 4GB RAM. Everything else is debatable. Dell has boxes that meet this criteria within your budget day in and day out, as does Lenovo. Depending on how hard you shop and how lucky you are you can get a lot of box for relatively little money if you keep your eyes open and ear to the ground. If you have the patience to try that check out Dealnews.com. Dell Business offers coupons (courtesy of Dealnews) once or twice a month on off-lease boxes but these are not always bargains so buyer beware!

As you may suspect genuine bargains evaporate incredibly fast. Luck.

You should be able to find a used/refurb macpro in the $500 range. If not I see tons of Powermac G5s on craigslist all the time for less than $200. Either one will do you more than well.

Thanks, fetuslasvegas. I hear lots of good things about Macs. I appreciate the info!