DAW that acts like a mixing board

18Duffs

HI gang I am a solo acoustic artist and am looking for a DAW
that will function like a mixing board.

I have a Steinburg UR44 and like the DSPMix (windows based)
dspMixFx | Steinberg
except you can only use the included plug ins (which isnt much)

I am looking for a program like the DSPMix, but one that lets me use third party VST Plug ins,

I would like to use it for jamming in my basement and not really recording,
I looked at the Harrison mix bus,
Harrison Consoles
but it looks like a beast as I really only need 3-4 channels

does anyone else have any suggestions?
thanks in advance

You're not going to find a DAW that "only" has 3-4 channels....but that's not a problem, you just create the number of channels you need for a given project.

So you can have a 3-4 channel mixer setup...or a 30-40 channel mixer setup...all form the same DAW...and, yes, the Harrison Mixbus appeal for many is that feels very much like a mixer, with all the key features and functionality available in the channel strips, rather than having to always add a bunch of plugins.
They have some entry level versions of the Mixbus that are pretty inexpensive.

That said...you can get most DAWs to function like a more basic mixer...and then only add the extra stuff when you need it.

Cubase works exactly like a mixer - as do most of them. What are you stuck with? They all nowadays (assuming a multi channel A/D) have volume, pan, eq and sends.

Mixer enough for you?

That is Pro X3 there are much cheaper versions of Samplitude but as said, almost all DAWs have "Mixer View".

N.B. most can also run from a touch pad.

Dave.

Attachments

• sammix.png
    sammix.png
    152.7 KB · Views: 12
They all act like a mixing board. A virtual one that you only see on your computer screen, but a mixing board nontheless.

As varied as hardware mixing boards are, so are the mixers in a Daw. All have to be learned.