Building new dedicated DAW. Are my specs ok?

LemonTree

Suck 'em and see!
I've been running an AMD 1800XP on a Gigabyte GV7XE+ with 512Meg PC2100 and 2x 40Gig ATA133/7200 hard drives on a dual boot system. Win98 for everything else and WinXPpro for the music (I'm a cool edit pro & Cubase SX user). I've decided it's time to build a dedicated DAW. In red are the parts I already have (one new part per pay check for the next 6 weeks). Do my specs look ok?

Pentium IV 3Ghz Processor
Asus P4P800 Deluxe Motherboard (800Mhz FSB)
19" Antec Rackmount locking PC case (1x120mm silent intake 2x80mm silent exhaust fans @18Dbls)1Gig of 3200DDR Fastram (400Mhz) 2x 512Meg matched strips for a staggering 800Mhz front side bus
80Gig ATA133/7200rpm system drive with 8Meg cache
160Gig Recording hard drive ATA133/7200rpm with 8meg cache
super silent 400Watt power supply running at 21 decibels...near silent
Maxtor G450 Dual head video card
Delta 1010 8in/8out soundcard
Delta 410 2in/8out soundcard X2

12 ins/24 outs Analog + S/PDIF

Any suggestions, hints or tips would be very much apreciated, thanks

Alec

P.S. My parts list was compiled after weeks of searches on HRDC. I think I have everything covered but just want to make sure. Should I see much of a noticable difference?

LemonTree said:
Pentium IV 3Ghz Processor

My system is quite similar, but I went with the Pentium 4 2.8 Ghz since you can easily overclock it to almost 3.2ghz (with no special cooling). Save yourself some $$ for RAM. I have the Asus Mobo which has been rock-solid (be sure to d/l the latest BIOS) and I have 1Gb of Corsair RAM which is also very solid.

I'm also using a Serial ATA hard drive (180Gb) which I've partitioned for O/S & apps, and have a second 120Gb HD for those huge music and video files. The performance seems quite good, so you may consider SATA since most of the industry is headed there.