BUILDING A NEW DAW: What to buy and better yet, what questions to ask?

3des

I built my first DAW 3-4 years ago, and it was PAINFUL deciding what parts to buy, but believe it or not, this list below was Mack Daddy cutting edge back then:

Athalon 600
Asus K7V
256M Ram
18Gig Seagate SCSI & Adaptec adapter
(I used to have a Gadget Labs 8in/8out card, but downgraded to a SB Audigy Platinum just before I realized that I really could use more than two ins and outs!)

OK, so I'm at it again (and still thick as a brick) even though I work in the tech/computer industry (rumor has it that if you work on Linux servers that you're presumed to be "geekier than thou", well, I'm proof that it isn't necessarily so! I guess I like making music more than I like recompiling kernels and chasing down installation dependencies!).

So, in preperation for building the new DAW I've begun the process of reading a bazillion BBS threads, and twice as many articles on the web, and the question of what parts to buy still makes me dizzy and I'm losing sleep!

What I'm hoping to get from you all is a few quick pointers in the right direction and more importantly, I'd like to be reminded of the right questions we need to ask before buying one part over another as I'm well aware that in some cases one part isn't necessarily bad or better, but just might not be what you need or isn't worth the extra expense.

First, let me start with a few assumptions about my next setup:

1. I do NOT need the fastest, sexiest, beast on the block.
2. I'm going AMD (read all the discussions and make your own decision)

My needs/recording style:

I use Cakewalk Sonar, and sometimes play with Acid or CEPro, and might get into Project5 or Reason and will probably start beefing up on the soft snyths.