Best Way to Transfer Old Tracks To A Mac

mike2731

OK, please forgive me, since I'm a computer recording noob. I used to own ADATs, and I currently own a Yamaha AW-16G. I will soon be getting a Mac Book Pro, and I'm planning on using it for my recordings. I'll probably get the Logic Express program with it when I buy it (or just use Garage Band at first).

Here is my question. I want to transfer my music I have recorded on the Yamaha over to the Mac when I get it. I need to know the best way to do this. Can I just back up the songs in .wav format from the AW-16G and be able to somehow transfer that to the Mac, or is there a different/better way.

Really sorry if this is a stupid question, but like I said, I've never done computer based recording, and I'm planning on getting rid of the Yamaha after I get the Mac. Help is appreciated...

mike2731 said:
Here is my question. I want to transfer my music I have recorded on the Yamaha over to the Mac when I get it. I need to know the best way to do this. Can I just back up the songs in .wav format from the AW-16G and be able to somehow transfer that to the Mac, or is there a different/better way.

I don't know what the AW-16G can do, but the Mac can certainly handle WAV files....

dgatwood said:
I don't know what the AW-16G can do, but the Mac can certainly handle WAV files....

The AW-16G can save backup files to a CD. I believe all of the tracks are saved separately as wav files. What I'm wondering is, for example if I had a song with 12 tracks backed up to CD as separate wav files, would I be able to import them all to a Mac recording setup and keep them all together as one song?

I would say "yes" with reservations.

Did you do any editing on the Yamaha? And is it destructive or non destructive editing?

A lot of the answer is based on how you prepare the tracks prior to backing them up. The "song" won't be transferable, but the audio will.