Audio interface or Zoom H-4?

cjbprime

Hi!

I'm -- to coin the dreaded words -- new to recording. I'm a classical guitarist, and want to record solo guitar in my quiet front room. I've had a pair of Rode NT-5s suggested as a decent place to start for microphones, and now I'm looking at the missing interface for getting recordings out of them.

Many guitarists are using the Zoom H-4 portable recorder, which makes sense since it's very convenient -- I don't have any need for portability, though, so my question is:

* is there likely to be an appreciable difference between the A-Ds and preamps in something like the Firebox or Audiobox vs. the Zoom H-4?
* if so, is a pair of NT-5s a good enough pair of microphones to expose that difference, or is it all the same when you're only spending a few hundred dollars on the mics?

Thanks in advance for any advice! Having the Zoom H-4 is quite attractive to me since I'm running Linux and don't like the look of the driver situation there, but if the preamps aren't up to a classical guitar recording with the mics that I'm thinking of then I'll take my chances with something like the Firebox instead.

- Chris.

I would normally recommend going for the interface, as moving audio about on your PC is a lot easier than on a MD or CD recorder.

But... you said the L word... I haven’t had a lot of experience with Linux and recording, but I know there is a fair amount of free software out there for it (rose-something is it?). If you’re good enough with Linux to warrant buying an audio interface and can get the drivers working then definitely go for the PC approach. Otherwise go for the Zoom, or equivalent piece of hardware.

Thanks for the reply, Waffleness.

I would normally recommend going for the interface, as moving audio about on your PC is a lot easier than on a MD or CD recorder.