Audio interface sound issues

thacq

Hey there! I'm having some very annoying and frustrating problems with my sound output options on my laptop.

I'm a recording musician, and I recently got a new laptop second hand from a friend. It's been factory reset and I've installed my ProTools onto it (ProTools 10). I use a usb interface (Avid Fast Track Solo) connected to a pair of speakers. Now, I can record and playback all my audio in ProTools just fine through my interface and speakers, but if I open any other sound source (Spotify/Youtube etc.), it only plays through my laptop speakers. I've done hours of googling and nothing seems to work. I've tried reinstalling drivers, resetting playback devices, nothing seems to work. To me, the weirdest thing is that my default device is set to my interface, but my computer still plays audio through it's inbuilt speakers.

My computer has over 1TB of hard drive space, plenty of RAM and running an i7-7700HQ processor, so it's got plenty of muscle to run the programs I need.

Let me know if there are any other places I could post this, and thank you in advance!

You should be able to set your PC audio to playback and record through the Fast Track Solo. Which version of Windows are you running?

You should be able to set your PC audio to playback and record through the Fast Track Solo. Which version of Windows are you running?
I'm running windows 10, and I've tried doing that, my interface is my default device. But it only plays sound from protools. If I play a YouTube video or spotify, it plays through my computer speakers.

You could try disabling the onboard sound? Probably "Realtek" or "High Deff" . Don't ask me how in ten but>Control Panel>Device Manager, right clk the sound device, Disable (not "Uninstall") .