Absolute Beginner

jnorden

Hi
My daughter (19yr) is in a struggling rock band who have asked me to help them make a CD for promotional use in our area (and maybe open a few doors further afield). They approached me because I know a fair bit about computers, but although I've read a bit on digital recording, I'm still very much in the dark.

Using my computer (1600+AMD, 256RAM, SBLive, 60Gb HD, 32x10x40xCDburner) as the main component, and doing most of the production with software, I need to know what hardware and software do I need to get the sound from the mics to the burnt CD?

The mics will be mostly SM57s, with probably a Rhode for the girl vocalist. Even if I record each person separately, I still need to record 6 - 8 tracks simultaneously when I record the drum kit.
I have access to a disbanded recording studio, with everything still in place except for all the electronic gear.

Thanks

I would recommend letting them go to a pro studio and cut a demo "live".....will probably cost less than just a soundcard that you will need to pull this off......

now if you are wanting to get into recording, that may be a different story.....

being a drummer myself I'm a fan of my own record one piece at a time technique. But I don't go crazy and I think I'm pretty good.
. . . but I also have the 8 in's necessary :) if it's simple stuff just record the snare. . . then bass drum. . . then toms. . . then highhat. . . then cymbols. . .etc

but you only really need 3-4 mics to do a live drumset 1 kick 1 snare and 2 overheads or just 1 kick and 2 overheads because the snare will bleed into it.

you can probably pick up a shrinkwraped SONAR 1.3 on ebay for $200 or maybe a Cakewalk Home Studio for $50 and an aardvark 24/96 for $300 new 4 1/4 inch ins and just buy adapters for mic cables