44.1kHz, 48kHz, and 96kHz?

Track Rat

Just Your Average Sized Member
48 kHz is more than fine for anything you want to do. The higher sampling rates just eat storage space.

So, there isn't too much difference in sound quality between 48 and 96kHz? Would 48kHz be considered demo/near studio quality? Thanks!

Whats the difference with these? I'm new to pc recording, I would assume that 96kHz is better, but why? I'm wanting to record/multitrack my drummachine, bass guitar and then the guitar track on to my PC and mix it with Cool Edit Pro and finally burn it to a cd. So, I'm thinking of going with the Lexicon Core-2, it is 24bit but only 48kHz. Would I need 96kHz for what I want to do or is 48kHz ok? Does anyone know of a card with at least 4 ins, 4-8 outs, (RCA) SPDIF (all in break-out box), 24bit (like the Core-2) but with 96kHz? Thanks!

the Delta 66 is 4in/4out 24bit/96khz for about $299 at www.bayviewproaudio.com and has more driver compatiblities than the Lexicon card. If your set on the Lexicon card, I imagine you'll be happy with the 48khz quality (96khz is DVD quality).

I done some more checking and If I read this correctly then all I really need is 44.1kHz since i'm going to burn it to a cd anyway, right? I've done a small bit of recording to tape and I ended up with pretty bad quality. What kind of improvment should I expect with recording at 24bit at 44.1kHz compared to my old record to tape player input?

16 bit 44.1 khz must be studio quality if all the CD's the pros sell are at that resolution.

Convetional wisdom says you track at the higher resolution, say, 20 to 24 bits and 48 kHz and when you master down to two track you do the conversion to 44.1 kHz/ 16 bits. Now a lot of folks just track at 44.1 kHz/ 16 bits and say screw it and by pass all the conversion problems. I guess it's a matter of taste.

Okay, for technical issues, go to www.digido.com . Read the article about dithering, and also the one entitled "More bits please".