Yamaha MT1X - Can only hear tracks 3 & 4 - minor or major repair?

Ego_Shredder

I've just received a Yamaha MT1X from Ebay and it is in very good condition, apart from the fact that when I play my old four track recordings made on a Yamaha MT100 MkII, I can only hear tracks three and four, but tracks one and two are not playing anything and the LED meters do not show activity (they do work otherwise). I have also tried the individual four phono track outputs on the rear, and they do not work on outputs one and two. The faulty tracks are not completely silent, but if you raise the track faders to the maximum you can only hear the track bleed from three and four; however I can hear NOTHING from one and two, not even a faint sound of what is meant to be playing.

My tapes are in excellent condition and I have a lot of experience with these type of machines, and with multitrack recording in general. So before I approach the seller to resolve this, I thought I would see if it could potentially be a cheap fix. I've had a very quick peek inside but there are many ribbon cables preventing me from lifting the whole top case off, and I do not fancy just yet having to work out what goes back where. At first glance things look healthy enough and no leaking or blown capacitors etc. I cannot see anything disconnected either but there could be.

The Ebay seller states in his description:

Yamaha MT1X Multitrack Cassette Recorder..CASSETTE DECK FUNCTIONS WORKS WELL BUT UNTESTED WITH AMPLIFIER/SPEAKERS-NO WIRES..MANUAL AND POWER SUPPLY INCLUDED..SPECIFICATIONS TO FIND IN GOOGLE
and he accepts returns within 14 days, but I have to pay the return postage. The item was £32 and the postage £12, so I am hoping a cheap fix might work out less than returning it.

Kind regards, Ian :(