What Mixer is this...Might be from The Ghost of FM

Blackdog.sn said:
Hey,

I was browsing the forum a while back and i rember seeing a mixer that I liked. The time has come where i'm about to buy a 4 or 8- track reel to reel, and i think that mixer would be perfect. I have a link to a pic that The Ghost of FM might have posted:

https://homerecording.com/bbs/attachment.php?attachmentid=11190

Also any additional info on the mixer would be good, because im in the market for such a little item :D

Looks like a Tascam M-30 mixer (early 80's) sitting between a 22-2 on the left and 22-4 on the right. It's a nice sounding board, 8X4X2 with tape inputs and xlr mic inputs, 3 eq, and 4 send buttons, but no level control on each channel for sends, as I remember.

I don't think it's Ghost's -- maybe Herm's.

-Tim
:cool:

Last edited:
wow, thats great. I'm actually buying a 22-4, and i need a mixer. When i saw that picture they look so well matched i wanted the mixer. I'm completely new to the whole analog style of recording...and recording in general i guess. Do you like the mixer herm? Anything extremely limiting? Any other mixers you might suggest for a 4 track?

To be honest I havnt got a chance to really use the mixer yet.
But it is a perfect match for the 22-4. The only real limiting thing I can think of for this mixer is that it dosnt have phantom power. But that is an easy thing to deal with if you get a external unit for it.
Do you have a dbx unit for your Recorder yet?

DBX :confused: I was just planning on using this 22-4 stock with a stock mixer, and record. What is phantom power used for?

Btw extreme newb talking here.

Phantom power is used to power special condenser microphones that require a dedicated power source to work properly.

Many of the large diaphragm types that you might see vocalists singing into in recording studios and many music videos are the type in question here.