what mixer for 16 track reel to reel

Tim95

Hi everyone, I'm a new member here, however I have read many threads from here in the past.
Although I was born in the digital age (I was born in 95) I have always preferred analogue formats, and have always stayed away from digital as much as possible! I listen to vinyl and tape every day!
I am a singer-songwriter and musician, and I have recorded using 4track cassette recorders in the past and have got good results. However my partner and I are having a home studio built as an extention to our property, and I want to have a fully analogue set-up.

I bought a fostex B16 from someone locally, but I don't have a mixer to plug it up too!
I was wondering what sort of mixer I need, and what are some good models to look out for. I am in the UK.
I am actually completely blind, so I want something that has nobs, buttons and sliders, that doesn't have digital menues etc.
Does it need 16 buses? Or just 16 direct outs? I must confess I get very confused with some of the mixer terminology! :)
Thanks so much everyone, Tim

There are two ways you can go, inline or split. A split console would mean having at least 32 channels, 16 for inputs to the recorder and 16 for outputs from the recorder. On top of that you would probably want more channels for effects as using auxiliary inputs is rather limited. A forty channel board would do the trick, but that's getting pretty large. An inline console has channels that can handle the recorder sends and returns, letting you monitor playback and live sources at the same time. In fact, each channel can do both at once to facilitate punching in. There's going to be a "flip" button on each channel that determines whether the channel is operating primarily in recording or playback mode. A 24-channel inline mixer would have all you need for a 16-track recorder plus some additional channels for reverb returns etc.

Its a shame you're not on the west coast of the US.