The Time to buy a 2" 24 Track?

sr71rules

I'm noticing some local(ish) 24 track Otari's on ebay and wondering if now is the time to scoop one up...

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=200537363747&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=230545574622&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT

I'm not experienced enough to know from the auction pictures if the heads are on good shape or not but for something around $1500 it's tempting...

Anyone care to encourage or discourage a purchase? The crazy posting from Albany NY seems to come with some neat extras as well.. :eek:

no doubt it's the time, 1200 for that MX80 is incredible. If i lived nearby I would definitely get it. Go over there and check it out and make sure you get everything that is said. A 'brand new' 2 inch MRL tape is worth hundreds of dollars so make sure it really is brand new, same for the pinch roller etc.

Try out all the functions, make sure everything works, find out about it's history. The heads look excellent from the picture but it isn't exactly a 'close up' photo so it is difficult to tell. Go up there in person with a magnifying glass and check it out. If you don't know what to look for, get a head report done... an investment of $1200 odd will be useless if the heads are shot, 2" replacement heads will probably set you back the same as you are paying for the whole machine. Get a head report done, could go a long way (also handy when you go and sell it off again).

I'm noticing some local(ish) 24 track Otari's on ebay and wondering if now is the time to scoop one up...

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=200537363747&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT

Are you close enough to Albany, NY...'cuz he's not shipping that one. He doesn't even want to take the time to crate it and/or arrange shipping.
You have to pick it up...bring a truck and helpers….he won’t even help load it.

Get a head report done...