Tascam TSR-8 V Fostex 16 track Half inch tape

There's so many things wrong with that post.
Your understanding of balanced signals and wiring, and how summing identical tracks has no effect on their quality...are both flawed.

Well that is becasue I have never used it before. I just know that is what it's for.... Balanced audio is for quality and noise elimination is it not? This is a learning exp. for me. I had a Tascam TSr-8 a long time ago and made one crappy test track before a bunch of coked up heroin adicts ruined it so this is my only second ecp. with having one and before that I had a 4 track cassette.

The reason I bought another one is becasue I find that working with tape is a little bit more enjoyable of a process.

Last edited:
Well that is becasue I have never used it before. I just know that is what it's for.... Balanced audio is for quality and noise elimination is it not?

Basically yes. Balanced cables are used to prevent noise in long cable runs. But that's just for carrying one audio signal.

Well that is becasue I have never used it before. I just know that is what it's for.... Balanced audio is for quality and noise elimination is it not? This is a learning exp. for me.

OK if you're looking to learn...maybe my perspective was triggered by that other thread where you generally rejected the notion.

Yes...as has been mentioned, balanced cables are for noise rejection...but the way you're assuming that running two signals in parallel to two tracks is the same thing as what balanced cables do...that's not the case.
Also... you're idea that 8 balanced lines is the same thing as "16 normal" lines (not even sure what you mean by "normal lines...unbalanced?)...is also not the case.
You can't take 8 balanced channels and get 16 unbalanced (or "normal") channels...you can only change the 8 balanced in to 8 unbalanced.