Tascam MSR-16 vs. Fostex G16S

themaddog

Rockin' & Rollin'
If both were about the same price (MSR-16 is $800 including shipping, G16S is $750 + shipping with extras), which would you go for?

Both machines have very little wear. I've seen photographs of both machines' heads and they are in great shape. Both owners claim they work great.

I love my 388, but need to go to 16 tracks.

Thanks for any and all help,
-MD

Last edited:
Although I have no specific experience with any of these machines, I'd say that their state would be the most important thing here. Assuming that they have had the same level of (mis)use and similar headwear I'd probably prefer the Tascam, as Tascam stuff somehow just feel slightly sturdier than Fostex'.

Soundwise they should be comparable, unless Fostex fudged up with that particaular model. Also, the Tascam uses dbx NR I think, while the Fostex has Dolby S. Preferences there are probably purely religious. I for example, prefer dbx. This without having any actual opinion on which is best. :p

Call Mat at Fostex and ask about parts availability.

Call Jimmy at tech support at Teac/Tascam and ask about parts availability.

Then, you'll have your answer.

themaddog said:
If both were about the same price (MSR-16 is $800 including shipping, G16S is $750 + shipping with extras), which would you go for?

Both machines have very little wear. I've seen photographs of both machines' heads and they are in great shape. Both owners claim they work great.

I love my 388, but need to go to 16 tracks.

Thanks for any and all help,
-MD

Go with the machine that is in the best condition.

The late Stephen Paul hailed the G series of Fostex machines as electrically superior to the Tascams. He claimed that they sounded as good as some 2" machines. Something to think about.

BRDTS said:
Call Mat at Fostex and ask about parts availability.

Call Jimmy at tech support at Teac/Tascam and ask about parts availability.

Then, you'll have your answer.