Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Tascam MSR-16 vs. Fostex G16S

Thanks

Tascam MSR-16 vs. Fostex G16S

Sign in to disable this ad
    If both were about the same price (MSR-16 is $800 including shipping, G16S is $750 + shipping with extras), which would you go for?

Both machines have very little wear. I've seen photographs of both machines' heads and they are in great shape. Both owners claim they work great.

I love my 388, but need to go to 16 tracks.

Thanks for any and all help,
    -MD
    Last edited by themaddog; 03-21-2005 at 10:38.

Thanks
    Although I have no specific experience with any of these machines, I'd say that their state would be the most important thing here. Assuming that they have had the same level of (mis)use and similar headwear I'd probably prefer the Tascam, as Tascam stuff somehow just feel slightly sturdier than Fostex'.

Soundwise they should be comparable, unless Fostex fudged up with that particaular model. Also, the Tascam uses dbx NR I think, while the Fostex has Dolby S. Preferences there are probably purely religious. I for example, prefer dbx. This without having any actual opinion on which is best.
    Random Pavarotti Disease Victim.

Thanks
    Call Mat at Fostex and ask about parts availability.

Call Jimmy at tech support at Teac/Tascam and ask about parts availability.

Then, you'll have your answer.

Thanks
    Bloody good point.
    Random Pavarotti Disease Victim.

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by themaddog
    If both were about the same price (MSR-16 is $800 including shipping, G16S is $750 + shipping with extras), which would you go for?

Both machines have very little wear. I've seen photographs of both machines' heads and they are in great shape. Both owners claim they work great.

I love my 388, but need to go to 16 tracks.

Thanks for any and all help,
    -MD
    Go with the machine that is in the best condition.