Tascam M512 Monitor Help

hawgpen

Yes, I am a novice trying to learn over a lifetime of trial and error. I am setup on a M512 mixing board and TSR 8 reel to reel. My tracks come out smooth as silk and then I mixe drums, ryhthm and bass to 2 tracks so I have more room for lead and vocals. While monitoring the sound before recording it is great! Then replaying the mix it sounds very muddled, when I select the option to monitor just the tape, the tracks are still clean but coming through the board individually they suck. What I am doing wrong? I have checked all connections and everything is right. Do I trust the tape monitor or is something not right?

Thanks for any input given!

Last edited:
hawgpen said:
the tracks are still clean but coming through the board individually they suck.
Could you clarify this part. Which tracks .......the old ones ......the new bounces? Also what do you mean by muddled. Distorted, No highs, Low level, try to be as specific as you can and we'll be able to help you better.

Just quickly, are your heads really clean and de-maged?

snipeguy said:
Could you clarify this part. Which tracks .......the old ones ......the new bounces? Also what do you mean by muddled. Distorted, No highs, Low level, try to be as specific as you can and we'll be able to help you better.

Just quickly, are your heads really clean and de-maged?