Tascam M308 problem

adavidowitz

I would just like to firstly say that I have very little knowledge of analog equipment and just picked up this mixer b/c I read that it was great sounding and it was very affordable. I got an M308 off of craigslist for a really good price. When I picked it up it looked to be in good condition and I tested it out there; every channel worked and the only problems that I could find were one pan knob was broken off and one fader was missing. Now that I took it home it suddenly stopped working. It powers up but I can't get it to work. I plugged in a mic and a bass and got no signal on every channel. Does anyone know what could be wrong? I was thinking of buying the manual from tascam but if its dead then I don't want to waste $40 and I was considering bringing it in to a repair shop. I only paid $80 so if its cheep to repair I would be willing to bring it into a shop. If anyone has any suggestions I would appreciate your advice.

Make sure your line/mic switch is in the right position and that you have the orange l/r buttons in on the channels you are using. Also in the master section. And make sure the channels are turned on (green lights lit) Should get audio through the board.

Those three buttons are in the right positions and the green light is lighting up. Demented I'm sorry but what do you mean by the jumpers for the inserts?

He's talking about the SEND RCV jacks on the back...should be a thingy bridging/linking the two on each channel...without it nothing gets through...

I have an M320, doesn't need any jumpers. 1/4 inch jacks for the inserts. Pretty sure the 308 is the same.

Daveg62...my bad. I wondered about that...just looked at some pictures. You are absolutely correct about the whole 300 line. No separate SEND RCV jacks on RCA's on the 300-series...1/4" unbalanced TRS jacks.

• Hm...adavidowitz...dunno...
  • Are you able to get the "OL" clip LED to light on the track you are using?
  • Have you tried all channels?