Tascam M-30 and Tascam 34: How do I dub vinyl records to tape with these?

Secret Saucer

I'm completely new to mixing boards and for the life of me cannot figure it out. All I want to do is dub records to tape...I don't need to use the EQ functions or even the phono preamps in the M-30. I just want to either run cables from the tape 'record' jacks on my preamp into the M-30 and from there into the 34. Or, run the outputs from my phono preamp into the M-30. All I need do is get it to drive the 34 and allow me to adjust the volume levels going to tape using tracks #1 and #3. There's gotta be a way to do this, right?

Thanks in advance for any help...

You don't need a mixer to do what you want to do. Go straight from your phono preamp to the line ins on your recorder to make your dub.

Thanks...I get the VU meters to move, but cannot get the deck to record. With the Tascam 34 I don't have any control over recording volume either, not without the mixer...goes into the red quite a lot...

There are four "Record Select" buttons above the channel 1 VU meter. you have to select the channels you want to record on by pressing the appropriate button, the relevant LEDs should light up.

You can then record by pressing the transport's Record and play buttons simultaneously.

Here is Tascam's reccomended 4-track setup with the M-30 & 34

View attachment Tascam M-30 Operation & Maintenance Manual - Page 38.pdf

You would then connect your preamp's Left & Right stereo outputs to the Line inputs of two of M-30 channels.

Last edited:
There are four "Record Select" buttons above the channel 1 VU meter. you have to select the channels you want to record on by pressing the appropriate button, the relevant LEDs should light up.

You can then record by pressing the transport's Record and play buttons simultaneously.

Here is Tascam's reccomended 4-track setup with the M-30 & 34

View attachment 107356