Tascam 48 Reel to Reel Question

Hi everyone, i'm a newbie to this forum and i'm sorta in dire need of some professional advice on my first potential reel to reel. As a fair warning, i'm coming from the digital recording world and my knowledge of analog machines is a little under-developed. Although under-developed, my knowledge is surpassed by my eagerness to learn and make great music with this wonderful technology. I currently know someone who is looking to sell me his Tascam 48 reel to reel. Neither him or I know much about it and I would like to know what to look for before buying this machine. I have read a little about the wear that happens to the heads on tape machines. Could someone please clarify and give me examples of this so that I can check for it on the machine in person? Any advice on what to look for would be greatly appreciated. Also, I could really use some beginners resource material to tape/analog machines as well. Thank you very much, hoping to hear your responses!:)