Tascam 388 needs repair?

shadwell157

Hi Guys....first post here

I bought a Tascam 388 today knowing there was a fault. The right hand side/spool struggles to play but if you push the HOLD button it runs fine. So I think the motor could be okay....but something else is up.

I'm a complete novice on this so any ideas would be cool

Also is there anywhere in the UK I can get this fixed/seviced/set up. I'm in suffolk if that makes any difference.

Cheers

Joe

but if you push the HOLD button it runs fine.

say Joe, I can't find the "HOLD" button on my 388. Is that British English for "Tape Lifter" or "Stop"? :p

But seriously, what button exactly are you pressing to make it run? You're sure that's a 388? you could post a photo to set our minds at ease...

looking at my 388 notes from the old days, it would seem the most likely culprit given the limited clues would be the transport pcb. the TEAC repair facility in New Jersey would simply replace the pcb. you may be able to source the part from them. it is a transport 'logic' issue most likely, rather than mechanical, since the motor spins fine when an otherwise-dormant surface control is toggled.

great machines, too bad they didnt make them in a 12 or 24 channel version. linking a 300 series mixer side by side just isnt the same...

I would also check the tape tension / reel servo adjustment - you can find calibration procedures on the maintenance section of the manual (looks like page "1-9" in my manual.) I could imagine if the tension was too low maybe it would have trouble moving - don't know why it would be different with 'Load' engaged though. you can only do partial calibration without a tentelometer, but maybe what you can do would help. so its working fine with the "load" engaged?

still troubles

I've been able to make adjustments so FF and RR work. But I still can't tweak it enough for Play to work :(